Entered on 2001-10-30 at 8:07 a.m..

Care Package and Evil Phone Companies

So I found out yesterday that my good idea, and �99 mobile phone investment is not going to be as useful as I originally thought. The evil british phone companies have managed to take control of the semi-evil Before coming here I thought that they too were evil, but not nearly as evil as their british counterparts. american phone companies. So in the tiny print at the bottom of the page explaining the little footnote attached to the international phone rate is an explanation that any call to a mobile phone will be charged an additional tax. This tax essentialy takes a nice ~$0.09 cents per minute phone call from my parents to a ~$0.31 cents per minute phone call from my parents. I'm glad all of the US customer service departments are over in india, because I don't want to be anywhere near my mom when she gets the phone bill.

Essentially I can call my parents cheaper on my cell phone than they can call me on my cell phone. Now the obvious alternative to this is for me to pay the �50 ($70) to hook up my room phone. The catch here is that they charge students �0.05 a minute to call what are normally free numbers. ARG I have never felt so helpless, and such a feeling of home sickness. Well aside from the �50 it won't be so bad would be better if the damn british would allown cordless phones because I'm normally in my room when my parents and Brian call on Sunday. But my mother may be paying a premium to call me on Thursdays.

On a happy note, my mother's care package finally arrived yesterday to Lanchester hall. I went at lunch to pick it up. I now am the happy owner of a comfy bed, thanks to the egg crate, slippers, a skirt hanger, and several hot cider and chocolate packages. All this was topped off by a bottle of cinnamon sticks. Yeah Mom

Its sunny again, and is supposed to get up to around 60 today :)

previous - next