Entered on 2001-11-01 at 8:33 a.m..

Time and Isolation

I thought I would relate another British/American difference. It has to do with how we tell time. As an American if asked what time it is I say "Eight Twenty-two" or if I wish to round the time, I say "Eight Fifteen" or "Eight Thirty". The British however have grown up using clocks with no numbers. They will respond "Quarter past Eight" or "Half Eight" I can only assume this made the whole concept of fractions much easier in math class. One of these days I'm going to respond to a question about what time is it, with "One sixth past Eight" (Eight Ten).

Now on to the psycho-bable.

Yesterday we had an international students lunch for the School of Engineering. It was there that I met Damian, who is from New Zealand, and who I will most likely refer to as the Kiwi. Anyway there was something about the way he asked if he could join the completely empty group of chairs sitting around me, that caused me to want to instantly give him a hug. It turns out the Damian is in a rather similar circumstance to one I was in when I first came here.

Damian is here to do is Ph.D. in mechanical engineering (dynamics with some interest in formula 1 cars). He is the only Kiwi that I have met here, and he has an isolated office with no other graduate students. Damian received his funding too late to make the housing deadline so he lives off of campus. The isloation was driving him crazy, and you could tell. The good news is that he has secured a place in Mitchell hall starting next Friday, so he can be more a part of campus.

I never really realized how much of a phsychological game graduate school is, especially for research students. With no classes to bond you, everyone floats pretty much alone, thinking that no one cares This is where everyone should be humming the worm song. No one likes me, everyone hates me, I guess I'll eat some worms. Fat ones, skinny ones.... You get the idea.

I've decided to launch an effort to combat this isolation. Typical Karen I've decided to try and get all the "new" Ph.Ds that I've met together for lunch once a week. I'm going to try Fridays.

previous - next