Entered on 2001-11-05 at 8:42 a.m..

Winter at Cranfield

Winter has arrived at Cranfield. The good news is that it is still sunny, but boy is it cold. On the 5-7 minute walk from my house to my office, my nose froze this morning. All this without any wind. My housemates have begun to pick up on my cold nature and have begun to pick on me. I find myself constantly chiding people to close doors and windows.

The weekend was good. We had our second volleyball game, which we lost. I was acting team captain, which also entails coaching. By the end of the game I was rather frustrated. But afterwards some of us went out on the Volleyball expiditionary committee to secure a place for the whole team to go bowlling. After having found it, we went for a drink. Unfortunately it was about 10:40 and the pubs all close at 11. We were within walking distance of one, but when we tried to go in the bouncer read big man in 3 piece suit and earpiece told us that no tennis shoes were allowed inside. Now thankfully I had be forewarned, and was wearing boots, but my french friend Juan, was wearing rather fashionable tennis shoes, the kind that are never ment to be played in. Well, somehow the bouncer caught my accent and let us in, knowing full well that Americans have to be taught how to behave. Poor Juan, he was distraught the whole night.

previous - next