Entered on 2001-12-04 at 8:50 a.m..

All set up

It has been almost two months to the day, and I have finally configured my computer to my satisfaction. I sincerely hope that I don't have to give it up in Feburary. Technically the computer is for the MSc students, but Prof. Allerton's other student, Tony, and I have "borrowed" them, since we don't have computers of our own. Theoretically Prof. Allerton is working on getting me my own computer. However, after watching how long it has take Tony to get his he is still waiting, and it has been over a month since ordering , I doubt I'll ever see one in my time here.

My current computer, however is set up just fine. I have it dual booting, either windows 98 or Linux 7.2. On the window's side I can see the network and print! On the linux side, I can also see the internet, but printing is a tricky subject, which involves an intricate communication and bartering between my computer and our printer. It tends to take about 3 minuts to print anything.

In other news, the sun has come out here today, and if the wind would just stop howling, it would be gorgeous outside. Sunlight is rather precious here, because at this Latitude, the sun never really goes over head. It just comes above the horizon and then sinks back down. Right now the sun come up around 7:40 and goes down around 3:50.

Christmas trees are sprouting up all over the place. The great news is that the whole artificial tree thing skipped England, so everywhere I go, a fresh pine scent hangs in the air.

previous - next