Entered on 2001-12-04 at 5:49 p.m..

White Paper & Choices

I'm sitting here with a piece of blank paper before me trying to come up with a Thesis topic. Really I'm trying to pull a plan out of chaos, and a coherent line of questioning out of a tangle of random ideas. So I've decided to follow my Supervisor's advice and make a spider diagram. I have nice fresh sheet of A3 paper (about the size of construction paper) sitting before me now. Somehow, though, a blank piece of paper is a rather intimidating thing. I've had this feeling before, while sitting before a blank piece of paper.

I remember in 6th grade science, where Mr. O. would test us with as much blank construction paper as we wanted and the single task: to tell him all we knew. I remember sitting through mock AP tests in English, Government and History trying to come up with a 5 paragraph essay, staring at blank-ruled paper. Then it was on to Tech, where the test questions came on one sheet and the answers went on plain white paper. It was such a daunting task, to answer a question with out any lines on the paper -- no where to begin -- that I began taking my notes and doing my homework on blank paper.

And I sit here now in roughly the 17th grade staring once more at a blank piece of paper; facing the daunting task of inspiring my self for the next three years...

previous - next