Entered on 2002-01-29 at 8:45 a.m..

Warm Spell

I'm back! There was a problem somewhere in Cambridge yesterday that took the entire UK University system off line. We were pretty much down from 9am until 10 last night. I was forced to do actual work :(

My topic for the day is the unseasonably warm weather we are having. Nope its not so warm at I'm celebrating or anything, but it is warm enough to have rendered all my new clothes for Christmas useless. Of course, it didn't help that Cranfield finally decided to cover over part of the wall above our office that was open to the outside air. Our office is pretty warm most of the time now, usually between 74-78 degrees. This and the outside air temp has only reached the low 50s. This summer should be very interesting!

Oh well, I figure its just a phase the weather is going through. The wind here, has really picked up. I remember Illinois right outside of St. Louis always got really windy in March and April, but they have nothing on Britian. For the past 5 days it seems we have had sustained winds here of 12mph with gusts up to 25mph. Yeterday was really bad and 7 people were killed due to the wind.

previous - next