Entered on 2002-02-06 at 8:59 a.m..

Downloads and paper

OK, I'm back. Between the computer system here and the server's on the diaryland site, yesterday was a bust.

Yesterday, I have to admit, was a pretty productive day. It didn't really match things that I had on my list, mind you, but I did find some things I had been looking for. One of these days I will understand the structure of EUROCONTROL, the company that runs Europe's air traffic control system. They are like a combination of NASA and the FAA. They do both research and put it into practical operation. Because they are an EU thingy, this means that they have offices all over the place and each one has its own website. Of course, you have to be part of the group to understand who does what and why. So needless to say, trying find a paper amid all of the possible websites is a huge task in itself. Yesterday I stumbled onto a great site and downloaded no less than 200 pages of useful information.

200 pages. This brings me to my next two points. I cannot begin to comprehend the amount of paper I have gone through since starting college. Let's just say that if I have done nothing else in my life I have kept the paper industry afloat. The second point is that since I've found 200 pages of useful information I now have to read them. My to-be-read pile continues to grow. At this point it is quite daunting.

previous - next