Entered on 2002-02-27 at 8:40 a.m..

Weekend with the Waites -- Part 2

Ok, now back to the Waites.

There are 5 of them. Angela is a physiotherapist, which is a cross between a chiropracter and physical therapist. Simon is an electrician for construction type applications. Philipa better known as Pippa is almost 4, and reminds me a lot of myself. Gareth is almost 2, and reminds me a lot of Steven. Gareth doesn't speak yet, but with Pippa around he doesn't really have much of a chance. Ralph the black lab is actually Angela's brother's but has come to stay with the Waites while his family is in Goldsboro, NC.

On Friday night I got to meet all 5 of them. I arrived just before bath time, so I was introduced to the children and then Simon wisked them away to bath and bed. After the munchkins were asleep Simon, Angela and I had dinner. It was wonderful! Then we had dessert topped with fresh cream:)

During and after dinner we talked about all kinds of things. I learned that Angela's brother was in the RAF and was training on F-15s down in NC. I also learned that her parents had just gone to visit them and spent a week in Virginia Beach. The coincidences went on and on.

They were curious to know what would drag me to the middle of Bedfordshire, and about my program of study. They also wanted to know if I had chosen Norfolk, or if I had just been assigned to them.

I also got lots of useful information out of them. I learned where to find a Crisco equivalent. They actually referidgerate it here, and sell it next to the butter. I just bought some and am not referidgerating it, just as an experiment.

On Saturday we were going to get up and Angela & I were going to take Pippa to a local pool so she could practice swimming. Then we were going to head around the countryside showing me around and having lunch before hitting Norwich for a few hours.

previous - next