Entered on 2002-03-11 at 10:19 a.m..

Back to normal

It was a whirlwind week with Brian here, but now he's on his way back to the states. We hit London on Wednesday and Thursday seeing the Tower of London, Tower Bridge, the Royal Observatory in Greenwhich (and the prime meridian), St. Pauls and a few other smaller things along the way.

Then it was off to Bournemouth on the South coast. We saw two castles and a tank museum (Brian was so excited.) On our way to one of the castles and the tank museum we passed by live firing ranges and practice areas for the Royal Army's Tanks. Brian took a picture of some of the signs we saw along the road:

Caution, live munition fire.

Caution, tracked vehicle crossing.

Give way to tanks.

Etc.

Having people visit is always an emotional roller coaster. When they first arrive I'm very excited. But, after a few days, I'm so used to being alone/on my own that I feel suffocated. Then when they leave I feel very lonely, having finally gotten used to having someone around all the time.

Nothing to cure the blues like work, though. So back in I go.

previous - next