Entered on 2002-03-28 at 8:14 a.m..

Public Holiday

Yep, must have known it was too good to last. Four days of sunshine and no rain. Just when I was making plans for a bike ride tomorrow, I wake up to fog. Lots of fog. The kind that reduces visability down to about 100 yards. Hopefully it won't be back tomorrow.

Speaking of tomorrow it is a public holiday here. That is a stange concept. We don't really have public holidays in the states. We have federal holidays and state holidays, but only Thansgiving really fits the category of public holiday. I think I'm gonna get spoiled.

I received news yesterday from the HOST people that they can place me with either a family in the Isle of Wight (down off the south coast) or up in North Umberland (on the border with Scotland). This will probably be in about a month. I'm excited.

Nothing much up for the weekend. If the weather cooperates I intend to go for a long ride tomorrow (3-4 hours). On Saturday I'm gonna go to the mall and bum around. I need to get a small bed-side lamp for my night stand so I can read without the overhead lights on. I haven't just bummed around a mall in a long time. Maybe I'll drag Laura or Jenny along with me. Sunday it is supposed to rain, so I don't know what I'll do. Maybe I'll just spend the day reading. I might also haul myself back into work if nothing else is going on. Monday - another holiday - well it will all depend on the weather.

previous - next