Entered on 23 April 2002 at 8:34 a.m..

New Identity

Over the past few days I have slowly been acquiring a new identity. It all began when my ID card began to crack slowly down the middle. This effectively cut the card in half long ways. Now at GT this would not have been too much of a problem because GT believes the more keys that you carry the better. Thankfully Cranfield is more enlightened, and my ID serves as a swipe card as well as my copy card. So I had to get a new one.

Then with the arrival of my new computer, I had to transfer my student account name to a staff account name. Thankfully this involves me losing letters from the strange name that the computers know me as. I've gone from er059385 to er0593. The good news is that now I can access my hard drive (c drive for all you non Mac people).

Today I'm also going to go down and visit the British equivalent of the DMV to have them approve my picture. To prevent fraud, to obtain even a lerner's permit you have to have a respectable (they give a list) British citizen, who has known you for at least 2 years, sign that the picture looks like you. Then you send the form, picture, passport and money in to the centralized drivers liscense place and hope it all comes out all right. Since no upstanding or otherwise British citizen has known me for 2 years, I have to physically go down to a town about 45 minutes drive from here and have someone on minimum wage look at me, then at my passport then at the other picture, take �4 from me and sign the form. Does anyone else see the futility to use a passport to verify my identity, but not the likeness of the photo I submit?

Also mom if you have a moment, please visit http://www.elginvilla.co.uk/ and then give me a call, or if time is short just give me a call.

previous - next