Entered on 03 May 2002 at 12:24 a.m..

The old world

Recently I read in the Technique that a bill was up to provide domestic partners the same benefits Tech currently provided spouses. The bill failed due to complications on implementation and such. It did highlight an interesting cultural difference between the US or atleast the southern US and the UK/Europe.

I have discovered a completely new vocabulary to deal with significant others. Instead of the default here being husband/wife or even boyfriend/girlfriend it is partner. I find this interesting, because I had previously only heard the word partner used for gay or lesbian couples. I hear the term all the time on the television and radio. It must have stemmed out of some PC agenda, but it fits the situation so well that it has stuck. It seems the majority of students that have a partner have been together for several years now, they show no signs of wanting out of the relationship, or even wanting more from it. Personally I think DeBeers should be worried.

previous - next