Entered on 13 May 2002 at 8:24 a.m..

Great Weekend

I had a wonderful time this weekend. This is probably due to the fact that I spent way too much money, but since I haven't really done anything in a while, I wasn't all that upset.

Friday night Flo, his friends and I all went to see a movie. I wasn't too excited about it since there didn't appear to be anything good out except Panic Room, which I didn't want to see. So a bunch of the guys and I all decided to see a British film called "Bend it like Beckham." It is a comedy about a Indian girl who loves playing football, and how she copes with her family that doesn't understand. It was GREAT. I highly recommend it to anyone who has indian friends or likes sports.

Then on Saturday, I did laundry and picked up around the place. In the afternoon I came in and tried to get my weather data in a decent format using Tcl. I figured out how to use Tcl, but ended up deciding that it didn't have the capapbilities I needed. So 4 hours later I went home. That evening the same guys and I went out for food. I was tempted again by chinese food and was sorely dispappointed with the quality and taste.

Sunday I headed down to London where I met up with two Marshall friends for lunch (awsome vegetarian Indian). We talked about life and swapped NHS horror stories. Then they went back to study, and I headed down to Hampton Court Palace to meet up with some other Marshalls to take a tour of the palace and grounds. It was grand as usual with these kinds of things. I did get to see the state apartments of William (0.5 of the William and Mary duo). Then we went out into the gardens and toured around. The sun even blessed us enough to peak out for about an hour.

In the garden is a maze. So in went about 12 of us. It was great fun. We kept splitting up at intersections and then coming back together after dead ends and forming new groups at the next intersection. The maze was a bit of a trick since you notice on your way in a gate with people coming out at the side of the maze. This leads you to believe that the purpose of the maze is to find your way to the exit. However, once you find your way to the center you realize that to get out you have to go back to the beginning and instead of following the sign marked entrance you follow the sign marked exit. All in all it took me about 40 minutes to complete.

After that we hit a pub for dinner and headed back to London, where I split off and came home. I'm off today to the US embassy for a briefing and then to the Marshall dinner later tonight.

previous - next