Entered on 07 June 2002 at 9:27 a.m..

Island Life

For the second time in my life I find myself living on an island. There are of course minor differences. In Hawaii we had trade winds, not gale force winds. In Hawaii temperatures tended not to deviate from 84 degrees, here they tend not to deviate from 55 degrees. So for three years of my life I lived with perpetual summer, and now I'm living with perpetual winter.

If I don't see the sun soon, I think I'm gonna go crazy. For the fourth day in a row we are locked under some sort of impenetrable cloud cover. The only good news is that the humidity has finally risen to a reasonable level, and my skin might stop flaking for a few hours.

On the figurative brighter side, this Sunday I'm off to Ireland to find the alusive Jen O. and hopefully some sunshine. I'll be back late Wed.

previous - next