Entered on 16 July 2002 at 8:38 a.m..

Wardrobe

The sun is gone, but the air is still mildly warm. That is the interesting thing about England. The air never seems to warm up. Even when it is in the upper 70s in the sunshine, in the shade it is back down into the 60s. Maybe it is a lack of humidity. I get a kick out of all my British friends complaining about how hot it is and how humid it is. I warn them never to leave their island because they will be shocked by weather elsewhere. Mostly I think that they are hot though because they are wearing the same clothes they have been wearing all winter. If you wear long pants, a long sleeved shirt and heavy shoes then, yes you will be warm at 70.

They remind me of the opposite of Becca when she first came to Tech. Having completely adapted to Floridian life, Becca was incapable of coping with seasons. So when fall came and the mornings and evenigns were cool, but the afternoons warm, she would go through about 3 different changes of clothing a day. My how the laundry piled up! She never did adapt, really. Instead, she just suffered in relative silence.

On an academic note, I showed Prof. Allerton my program plan yesterday, and he approved of it :) Of course he launched into his, "this is for you, not me" speech several times during the process, but I managed to get out relatively unscathed.

previous - next