Entered on 18 July 2002 at 8:23 a.m..

Brian Comes Today

He's on his way to Germany for the year, and before he goes off to language school, will be spending some time with me in England. I must say that the weather has geared up for his arrival. After a week of beautiful weather, it has returned to its dull gray self.

His plane got in about 20 minutes ago, and I'm sure he is currently in a never ending line for passport control, baggage claim, and customs. After that he'll probably head straight for the nearest coffee shop, grab a cup and then head for the trains. He should be able to catch the 9:30 one and get in to Bedford about 2 hours later. Somewhere in there he's supposed to call and let me know what train he's likely to catch. I hope he does this after drinking most of his coffee, or the conversation will be pretty funny. Then again, he flew in on British Airways and they are pretty good about serving ample amounts of coffee and tea early in the morning on international flights, so he might be pretty well caffienated by the time he hits the ground.

On another travel note, my parents are on their way to Ashtabula for their 30th High School Reunion. My 5th was this year, but for obvious geographic reasons I didn't make it back to Poquoson this time.

For my more technical readers UNITS, UNITS, UNITS! If you learn anything and it is questionable going through an engineering cirriculum it should be that you ALWAYS need to work in a CONSISTENT set of units. Failure to do so is disasterous. For proof, just ask NASA about the last probe that they lost. So here I am slugging through the best aicraft performance database yet assembled and what do I get, but a jumbled mess of equations in a hodgpodge of English and Metric units! I think I'm going to strangle someone.

previous - next