Entered on 09 August 2002 at 1:37 p.m..

Driving Lesson

Sorry I'm late, but I had my first driving lesson this morning and I didn't get in until 11. At that point I spent a few minutes down at tea, and then a half hour helping out a visitor find some references on ATM surface movement coordination between the Tower and ground-control. By then it was time to got home an have lunch.

As for the lesson, it was good. I do some things well, and some things poorly, and some things they way normal people do- but not the way I need to to pass the test. My two biggest problems to passing the test right now are 1) crossing my hands over one another when I steer, 2) using the wrong clutch sequence when turning a corner thus turning the corner too fast. Their method of steering is to slide one hand to another as you turn. Their method for turning is to brake until you can transfer into 1st/2nd gear, get fully into that gear, then turn with out touching the break again. It is going to take a lot of practice to retrain all of that. But I did talk him out of requiring me to use the parking brake everytime I stop for more than 3 seconds.

At tea we were debating as to whether holding a car on an incline with just the clutch was bad for it or not. Like I said lots to practice. I take my theory test on the 20th and can book my driving test only after I pass that. I'll probably book more lessons after I pas my theory test.

previous - next