Entered on 19 August 2002 at 8:10 a.m..

Industrious Spiders

I have come to believe that the most idustrious creatures in Britian are spiders. They are literally everywhere, and now matter how often you clean away old cobwebs, and other unwanted webs, poof they re-appear. This Saturday was a georgeous day, the temperature topped 82 and the sun was out. I decided to wash my car for the shear fun of being outside in the nice weather and playing in the water. In the process of washing my car I wiped off atleast three separate, palm-sized webs. There owners were no where in sight. Today I went out to my car to look for something and low and behold the webs were back. You have to give the little guys credit.

One of our spiders, however is not so little or inocent looking. In our kitchen we have this huge, black, orange and white striped critter. He's spun a web about 2 feet in diameter and has strategically positioned himself above the stove. This is the third position he has taken up in our kitchen. He started off in front of one of the windows, a great location if he hadn't anchored his web to my cooking utensils. Next he moved over to the corner above the microwave, again decent location, but this time the cleaning ladies came in and wiped off the anchor he had to the microwave. Now he's above the stove, and since it hardly ever gets cleaned on the top, he should be safe for a while. I think he's quite content as Lan keeps feeding him.

previous - next