Entered on 22 August 2002 at 8:25 a.m..

Concrete Cow

The brits might not be good a food, or weather, but they do great comedy. Last night I was listening to the radio a little later than normal and I happened to catch a comedy show called "The Concrete Cow" In my opinion it was rather good, so good in fact it kept me awake from 11-11:30 last night. For those of you who don't know me well enough that Karen becomes narcoleptic at about 10:30 at night, this was a huge achievement by this radio show. I thought I'd paraphrase a particularly funny sketch.

Scene: Two men waking up from a night of heavy drinking:

Man 1: Golly, what a night eh!

Man 2: I'll say, haven't drunk that much since, I don't know when.

Man 1: Hey, were on a boat.

Man 2: Yeah, don't you remember we were all out last night having a laugh when around midnight Columbus says, "let's all go for a curry."

Man 1: You do realize that at the end of the 15th century the spices required to make a curry were very rare and expensive.

Man 2: Of course, due to the long and dangerous voyages necessary to bring them back from the far east. But Columbus said that he knew a really good restaurant, and that it would be quicker if we just sailed West to avoid the que.

Man 1: So we're sailing west, possibly off the end of the earth, and in to the unknown just to get a curry.

Man 2: Yep, say what kind do you think you'll get? I think I'll have a korma...

Well it was better than that. If you want to check it out go to http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4/comedy/concretecow.shtml, if you have realplayer and you hurry you can even listen to it. If you enjoy monte python you're gonna enjoy this. Only takes half an hour.

previous - next