Entered on 10 October 2002 at 8:27 a.m..

People Watching

I've been observing a lot of people lately, three in particular because I find them interesting. The first is the new Marshall guy here from the Air Force Academy. I'm interested to find out how he makes the transition to freedom, so far he's doing alright. He's taking it easy, which is a by product of his training, i.e. he's only doing what he has to. This is great when you've got your entire day planned and everything is compulsory. I'd figure in the Academy that you quickly learn to do only what you have to so that you can sleep. The problem doing that here at Cranfield is that I would think it very isolating. Good thing he's taking a course or I'd be afraid that he's setting himself up to take a fall. He also doesn't know how to forage for food like most students. For instance he didn't attend either the international food festival or the international student welcome tea. What was he thinking?? He's also didn't go to the student clubs/societies fair because he didn't want to become overly committed. I'm not sure what he plans to do with his time here in Spa Cranfield... Hopefully he'll be overloaded with homework and won't notice too much.

Next I've been watching two of my office mates flirt with each other. Since I am a romantic I find it sweet. My only concern is that the girl involved is so nice to everyone, that she might end up hurting the guy inadvertently. We'll see. Two more years to keep an eye on the situation :)

previous - next