Entered on 29 October 2002 at 9:01 a.m..

I'm alive!

Yesterday I lived through the British equivalent of a hurricane. We had a windstorm with sustained winds of 40mph and gusts upto 80mph. It was pretty bad, the campus looks a bit like a battle zone with trees and bits of trees down everywhere. The amazing part about the storm was that it lasted pretty much all day, with no breaks in the wind at all. Aparently the wind disrupted shipping, rail, and air transport all day yesterday.

I pretty much stayed inside all day and waited for the wind to die down. Unfortunately the birds didn't have it so good. I woke up and pulled back my curtains to come face to face with a bird in the tree outside my window, not looking happy at all. He was all fluffed, sitting on his feet and clinging on for dear life. Well he got one look at me and liked his situation even less. So he turned around, rather ungracefully and faced his tail toward me. Obviously he didn't trust me, because he kept turning his head to look at me, and eventually decided that I was scarier than the storm, and flew away.

The sheep on the other hand seemed unphased by the whole thing.

previous - next