Entered on 19 November 2002 at 10:51 a.m..

Standards

You don't ever think about why it is that when you buy a hose it fits the nozzle, or when you buy a phone the cord fits into the socket. That is because the standards people are doing a good job. I think everyone involved with creating standards deservs a big hug. They should have their own Hallmark Holiday.

Ok, why is Karen rambling on about standards? Well I just bought a new baking tray, a really nice flat one with a non-stick surface. Last night I loaded it up and tried to put it in the oven. Guess what it didn't fit. Sigh. Another in a long line of items I have purchased only to find that they don't fit/work as I intended them to. It took me 3 months to get my cordless phone to work with my phone socket. Then I had to buy an adapter for the hose that I bought so that it would fit on the tap. Now I can only use my nice baking tray on the bottom of the oven. Yes on the bottom, as it doesn't fit anywhere else.

Before I buy my turkey this year, I'm going to have to measure the dimensions of the oven... Stay tuned for another epic adventure in the Standardless land of the UK. I must admit it isn't fully their fault. It is just that Europe does things one way, and the US does them another, and the UK is caught in between.

previous - next