Entered on 02 December 2002 at 8:59 a.m..

Hamburg Christmas Fair

I'm back from my weekend trip to Hamburg. Amazingly enough both of my flights tookoff and landed on time (miracles do happen). Hamburg was lovely, the weather was overcast and cold, but it didn't rain! Brian and I spent almost the entire time wandering around the Christmas market.

On Saturday afternoon we met up with Flo (my housemate from last year) and he toured us around his hometown. So we got the full German experience; seeing both the cutesy-touristy side of Hamburg and the not-so cutesy side. It was good to see Flo again. Same old guy, full of energy and able to drink/eat anyone under the table.

The Christmas market itself is this collection of cute hut-like stalls selling all kinds of things. Mostly they were selling food & drink, and lots of it. Oh, we ate & drank our way through the market. Gluwein, I've discovered is infact mulled-wine and is wonderful when on a cold afternoon.

The crafts were a bit disappointing as a lot of the wooden works seemed to be mass-produced. For example several different stalls had the same wooden figures (probably with the same made in China label). There was even a stall selling plastic, singing Christmas trees, santas, etc. I found a few cute things and bought myself two nut-cracker ornaments and a wooden-train ornament. The best thing that I bought for myself was a lantern that one guy was making in a stall. It is very cool, and really works.

Brian took some pictures of our adventure, but hasn't sent them too me yet. So they, along with the Thanksgiving photos are coming soon.

previous - next