Entered on 29 January 2003 at 9:34 a.m..

Mark Graduated

Yesterday the first member of our office graduated. Mark, who is almost a walking replica of the character played by Hugh Grant in 4 Weddings and a Funeral, finally successfully defended his Thesis. Yeah!!! Not necessiarly an easy thing considering there was an 11 month gap between the time that he handed in and his defense yesterday. So he was done by noon and well drunk by 1pm. I admit to not feeling a bit guilty, although I did buy him a drink, and did look for his body in the forum this morning.

So that was the good news. The bad news was the argument my supervisor and I got into when I asked him for a letter of recomendation for GT. We started discussing the merits between the British and American systems. He threw several rather harsh barbs, which hurt and basically doesn't understand why I'm even considering going back. I don't know why this important to me, but I feel I need him to understand. Need him to sanction my doubts about the UK doctoral system, or at least to entertain the idea. It never be came heated or anything (mostly because I didn't really fight back). I guess I feel that he doesn't understand just how many variables I have been weighing in this decision.

previous - next