Entered on 04 February 2003 at 8:21 a.m..

A Good Monday

Yesterday was a really good day. I made some decent progress on my programs (well at least conceptual progress), had a productive meeting with my supervisor, gave blood, and had a meeting with Keycom's cronies. Yep, felt pretty bad for Keycom's cronies as the director was supposed to be there, but he sent them instead. So we yelled at the same cronies that we always yell at. Not nearly as much fun as yelling at someone new, who actually has bearing on the decisions being made.

Giving blood was an interesting process. Not unlike giving blood in the US, I figure they all follow similar guidelines. The different part is that they constantly monitor you once you are hooked up. This means that you get your own personal nurse or you share one with the person next to you. This is rather nice as you don't have to worry about getting someone's attention when you are done. The other key difference is the food they provide. Because it is britian you are offered either tea, coffee or orange along with a selection of cookies. No nutter-butters though...

They also have really neat sitckers. They had the standard, "Be nice to me..." ones, but they also had some that said, "I gave blood for a custard cream" and ones that said "my mum/dad/auntie/uncle gave blood today." All in all very cute.

previous - next