Entered on 17 February 2003 at 8:21 a.m..

Bletchley Park

This weekend I tagged along with some Navy guys & gals to Bletchley Park, also known as Station X. For those of you not up on your WWII history, Bletchley Park was where the British did all of their code breaking during WWII. So this is where they broke the Enigma codes and where they broke some of the more complex codes used by the German High Command and the Japanese. It was a pretty neat place, and we had a special lecture before hand which made it more interesting than just looking around. It is a newly opened historical site, and in desperate need of money. This was evident in their unskilled attempt at salesman ship, which all of the Americans found laughable. They did have some really neat equipment that we could play with. I got to type on an authentic Engima machine. The sad thing is that at the end of the war the British didn't want the Russians to know that we had been breaking the German codes so all of the Bombes (the enigma breaking machine) and Colosus (a semi-programable computer) were dismantled piece by piece. So working editions no longer exist, and you just have to imagine how the real machine would look from mock-ups. All in all a lot of fun on Saturday.

On Sunday I lazed around with a terrific headache in the morning. By lunchtime I managed to squash it with some motrin and went to the gym. After that I worked on my scrapbook and managed to finish my Holland trip and my mother's visit. I'm a little frightened of tackling Sarah, Becca and my trip through Scotland.

previous - next