Entered on 07 March 2003 at 7:38 a.m..

Random Cars

I'm not sure if I'v mentioned it before, but Cranfield has a Technology park along its Southern end. As far as I can tell there isn't much in the park (well no big names that I recognize) except for Nissan's research and development brance. This is where they develop new Nissan prototypes. It's a pretty secretive operation, they have even officially complained about flights flying nearby, which is fairly inevitiable since they are only 0.5 miles from the runway. Since they build prototypes at the facility, they also test drive them around the area. So every now and again you can see a car around which doesn't really match any description that you can put your finger on. Also they have red license plates. Anyway yesterday I saw such a car. It was a modification on the Micra. I must say it looked rather cartoon like, with over-exagerated curves and buldging headlights.

Pretty fun. Just makes you feel special seeing something brand new.

previous - next