Entered on 23 March 2003 at 5:43 p.m..

Algebraic Exercise

This question was posed on a BBC radio show where they review new books. According to them the first two listeners to correctly answer the question will get a free copy of the book. So I took a stab at it, any chance for a free book... I had some fun with it, so i leave it to you to have some fun.

The square root of half the number of a swarm of bees is gone to a shrub of jasmin; and so are eight ninths of the whole swarm; a female is buzzing to the one remaining male; that is humming within a lotus, in which he is confined, having been allured to it by its fragrance at night. Say, lovely woman, the number of bees.

In other news the weather was great this weekend so I went down to Avebury, which is aobut 2.5 hours south of here. Avebury has the largest stone circle in Europe and I had a book with a 7.5 mile hike that started and ended in Avebury that I wanted to do. I and my cameras had a splendid time. In the end I did not fnd anyone who wanted/could go with me, so I went alone. The hike was nice and the views were absolutely stunning. I was completely alone for almost the entire hike and crossed paths with no more than 20 people. It took me about 3 hours to complete, as I was stopping for photos and such. I can happily tell you that I undertook the entire hike without my jacket, and did not get rained on :)

The trip back was more of an adventure than the trip there. I found the "Bermuda Round-about". 4 roads enter a round-about and I tried everyone before figuring out how to get where I needed. I was operating under the faulty assumption that if you take roads 1->2->3 to get some where that when you come back you take roads 3->2->1, well not in Bister. The good news is that I'm becoming really good at being lost in the UK now. As you can tell, I did eventually make it home, where Allen and I commiserated about Bister.

previous - next