Entered on 26 March 2003 at 8:50 a.m..

Yo, Dude

On Monday evening I went to Tesco, because I needed bread and juice. Normally I don't like going to Tesco on Mondays because it is closed for much of the day on Sunday and people react like wild animals who have just come through a famine on Mondays. There are perpetually no bananas on Mondays.

Anyway, I wasn't expecting much exciting to happen as I quickly wheeled my cart around the store. When randomly I heard a very loud adolecent voice shout, "Yo, Dude!" The voices came from two guys, who could only have been about 18-19 and who would be refered to in British as "Lads." I found them thoroughly entertaining and followed their movements for a while. Even though most of the time I couldn't see them, I could hear them and I was constantly fighting back hysteria. I was watching/listening to un-reserved culture shock, as they searched for power bars, and cookies. Neither of which can be found anywhere in the UK. Well, not in the way they were thinking anyway. After completing several more aisles, where I caught glimpses of the Lads criss-crossing the store. I heard them decide to split up to quicken their search.

Finally I took pity on one and told him that he wasn't going to find any power bars, and directed him to where the cookie-like items are located. I asked him how long he'd been over and he said 2 weeks, and that they were "race-car drivers." Clearly this was meant to impress me, and as waves of hysteria crashed over me again, I tried not to laugh out loud. He didn't recognise me as an American, I must have lost my accent somewhere along the way:) But when I told him I was from Virginia, his response was, "oh, different state." I never did figure out where they were from. But I continued to hear them yell back and forth to each other around the store. Sometimes you find amusement in the most unlikely places.

previous - next