Entered on 14 April 2003 at 9:38 a.m..

Accident and Emergency

Well after 16 months in the UK, I decided to try my hand at Cricket. Not quite the same as softball, but close enough I reasoned. So as I was waiting for my turn to bat, I decided to participate in some fielding practice. Well in classic Karen style the first ball I went for (a slow grounder), I ran toward it and bent to one side to scoop up the ball while in full stride. That was the theory anyway. What happened was as I bent over my left knee poped out of place and then back in. Scaring the hell out of me (as it was the same knee I'd torn my ACL on) and putting me in a good deal of pain.

So off we went to Accident and Emergency (british equivalent of the emergency room). The doc said that he didn't think I had torn anything (YEAH) but that I had probably strained or sprained my medial ??? ligament (the on e on the inside). So I managed to get an exray, crutches and some compresion bandages off of them and was dis-charged with orders to come back in a week for a follow up apointment. However I didn't get any kind of knee brace off of them, and my knee is rather wobbly. Sigh. So now I'm slowly hobbling around campus hoping that everything gest better before my trip to Barcelona.

previous - next