Entered on 27 May 2003 at 9:10 a.m..

Unoffical start of summer

As most of you know, yesterday was memorial day, the unofficial start of summer. I was here at work trying to get my airplanes to land. And remarkably it was nice outside, highs in the low 70s. But for some reason in our office, it was really warm. Yesterday with just me alone, and all the fans on (We've got two sets of ceiling fans) the temperature didn't budge from 84 degrees. Not that this is really all that hot. In fact if we put in a kiddie pool and started making iced drinks I'd actually enjoy it. My office mates though, are in for a bit of a tougher ride. Jason, from nortern England came in today wearing what he usually does. A pair of heavy black walking boots, jeans and a long sleeved shirt. Now, Jason wears the same thing when it is only 30 degrees outside, so I know he's got to be hot.

The good news is that I get to wear my summer clothes while in the office, and just cover up with a coat when I walk home. Which is exactly the opposite of what happens in the US where I wear my summer clothes outside ane at work cover up with a blanket from the air conditioning.

The external temperature is supposed to break 78 this Thursday, so finger's crossed.

previous - next