Entered on 28 May 2003 at 8:42 a.m..

Spa Cranfield

Remember how I used to call this place Spa Cranfield because nothing it seemed to disturb the tranquility which existed here? Well owing to the temperatures in my office right now I know where the sauna is. Yesterday we were in the high 80s, but worse than that the air was just stagnent up here. Not a very conducive environment to keep your mind on work! The really depressing thing is that it is in the mid 80s up here and it is only in the upper 60s outside.

In other news my first Italian lesson went well last night. I've decided to take a few lessons before I head off to Italy in October. So the ladies at the community center teamed me up with a nice student here named Spartaco, who has agreed to tutor me for an extremely cheap sum. It seems that he would like to teach a course in italian next year more formally, so I am his guinea pig. In all I think it will work out well. Yesterday I learned the alphabet and some pronounciation. His critiques of my Italian so far are that 1) I do not open my mouth enough when I speak and 2) I do not speak with enough gusto/volume. Clearly these are only problems when I am speaking Italian :)

previous - next