Entered on 02 June 2003 at 8:31 a.m..

Perfect Day

Wouldn't you know it the one day I really needed/wanted to be working and the weather was absolutely georgeous, so I stayed home. The weather was sunny, the temperature was in the mid 80s and there was a slight breeze blowing. Perfect. I decided that since I need to sell the purple raindrop soon, that I'd see how well it cleaned up. Over the winter I'd been employing the principle of keeping a layer of dirt on my car to protect the paint job.

I was also a little ambitious and decided to see if I could spruce the wheels up a little. For those of you who have been with this diary since the beginning, you know that my car has steel wheels, and over the years they've developed little rust spots. So, taking Allen's advice (the motor sport guy in the house) I bought some steel wool and WD-40 and began the process of rubbing all of the rust off. I managed to get about 70% of it off and there was a dramatic difference. The little car looked about 3 years younger. All in all a decent way to spend a couple of hours out doors. Although I must have looked pretty strange sanding down my wheels while wearing sunglasses and a floppy straw hat.

That evening Nicholas, Allen, Allen's sister, Grace, and I all had a small barbeque in the shadow of a much larger greek, spanish barbeque. As the spaniards and greek students were attempting to play football while drunk, they provided much of the entertainment for the evening. After the sun went down at around 10pm, they even sang for us...not that we could have stopped them. At around midnight I shut the window on that side of the house :)

On Sunday the sun was gone, but the temperatures were still nice. Today is much of the same. In the end I did make my deadline because before I left on Friday, my planes landed. So the program isn't completely done, but the basic functionality is there. :)

previous - next