Entered on 02 July 2003 at 8:28 a.m..

Karen's Calendar of Events

In the interest of getting my knee back into shape this time, I went to see a physical therapist yesterday. I found out that for only �10 ($16) I could see the girl who comes to campus once a week. And because I was paying for it myself, I didn't have to get a doctor's referal. The appointment went well, and now I have lots of exercises to do. I didn't realize how weak my left leg had become. Very interesting. She also tried to explain why my knees nock when I bend (leading me to stand with my feet in a V shape). All in all well worth my �10. I'm supposed to do my exercises for about 10-20 minutes a day and then report back in about a month.

Later tonight I'm off to polish up a presentation on Bedfordshire Girl Guides (girl scouts) that we are supposedly giving to a large number of people, including the Queen, on the 12th of July. So far it looks pretty good, but it lacks a sound track...

Then tomorrow I have a dentist apointment for a "scrape and polish" as the Brits call it. The funny thing is that I just wanted a cleaning, but they wouldn't give me an appointment through the NHS for just a cleaning, I had to have a check up too. The grand total of these two things on the NHS is about �18 the cleaning alone privately is about �30. Same dentist, same chair, same scraper. Ahh. Does anyone else understand why socialized medicine in the UK is in crisis?

previous - next