Entered on 05 August 2003 at 9:18 a.m..

Bird Bath

Yesterday as I was getting out of the shower I heard the distinct russling of bird feathers. You know the sound that birds make when they are taking off. Well since we have windows in our bathroom, and since they were open I didn't think much of it. But then the sound came again, and again and again. Ok, my curiosity was arroused, was a whole flock of birds taking off from the tree outside?

So I opened the window a little wider and peaked out. What I saw was a mini bird spa full of customers. You see just outside the bathroom window is the roof of the detached garage. It has a flat roof which has begun to sag in spots. And after the few days rain we've had it made a perfect birdie bath, actually 4 of them. And in each little bath was at least one bird and one bird waiting his turn. I was highly amused and watched them for a while. They looked like they were having lots of fun.

In other news I'm frustrated with one of my fellow students. This is the one that is in experimental aerodynamics, which means she works in the wind tunnels. Well she's so meek that people walk all over her, which makes me mad. Normally there is this background level of frustration because she's been working for 2 years and she still doesn't have her model built. To be honest given the state of the tunnels and the measurement equipment she has no chance of getting her PhD in 6 years, let alone 3. The fact that she refuses to admit this and move on, frustrates me, but I've grown acustomed to it. Now however her supervisor has upped the ante. Since the only windtunnel technician quit in May, she has been forced to tech for the MSc students instead of doing her own work. For this extra work, she is not being paid. Oh, it just makes me so mad. She clearly has other work to be doing, because she stays late and comes in on the weekend to do it. She refuses to stand up to her supervisor and it just frustrates me to no end. I want to take this guy aside and give him a piece of my mind. Grrr. My only consolation is that isn't really my problem. Sigh.

previous - next