Entered on 07 August 2003 at 10:09 a.m..

The heat wave continues

90+ degrees is not pleasant without air conditioning. So yesterday as the temperatures in my office climbed into the 90s I set up shop in the library where the air conditioning managed to keep the temperature in the mid 80s. It's not too bad working in the library as they have plugs and data points for my laptop. The chairs however are horrible, they are these plastic all one piece jobs. Not the ones we used to have in school but the more curved kind which were probably originally stylish in the mid 60s. The other problem with the library is that all of the data/power points are located along the outside wall, which is glass. This makes it very hard to read the laptop screen if the sun is bright outside (not usually a problem) but it was quite sunny yesterday. So all in all not a bad stop gap measure, but not ideal. So this morning I'm back in my office (which was 81 at 9am this morning) using my regular desk with fun swivel chair.

Tomorrow I'm off to Carlisle (just south of scotland and on the westcoast). However my tickets have yet to arrive, and the trains are still on a delayed schedule due to heat. But it isn't hot (outside) today. The temperature here is only supposed to reach 78, so I don't know why they haven't removed the speed restrictions, but there you have it.

This is however all my fault. A few weeks ago I was emailing Dr. Pritchett and I asked her to send some of the Atlanta weather my way. I felt at the time (middle of July and I was wearing my coat again) this was a justifiable request. See you should be careful what you wish for. From now on I'm only going to request weather from Hawaii.

previous - next