Entered on 17 December 2003 at 8:33 a.m..

Up in DC

So I'm up in DC today to attend a meeting at MITRE where hopefully they'll present me with some really neat ideas for my thesis and agree to pay me to work on them over the next 3 years (or maybe just the last two of those). Yes that would be the ideal situation, but my bet is that reality will be somewhat less. Anyway being up here just reminds me of how much I don't like this area. TOO MANY PEOPLE. I've never seen so much traffic. I'm staying with a friend who has a really nice condo. It is close to work, (you could almost throw a stone at it) but I bet it still takes 20 minutes to get there by car, and there are no provisions for bicycles. And when he told me how expensive the place was, well that's it I'm going to have to start playing the lottery.

Wish me luck.

previous - next