Entered on 16 July 2004 at 9:24 a.m..

Differing Cultures & Those who whish to block out the world

Before I came to college I would have characterized myself as have seen something of the world. Afterall, I had lived in 6 different states, and left the country once. But I am continually amazed by how easy it is to believe that everyone lives like me and holds values similar to mine. I am usually awoken from this dream when I either: 1) put my foot in my mouth 2) have a rare but serious political/religious discussion 3) attend a wedding. This weekend I will attend my 3rd wedding this summer (season) and I am preparing myself to be shocked again. I've been warned that at this wedding there will be no reception and even if there is one it will have NO alcohol. This is an absolutely foreign concept to me. Sure if you want to save money, you have a cash bar. But no bar? The italians in my family wouldn't have it. I am however looking forward to the event, mostly because it is taking place on St. Simon's island on Georgia's coast. I've never been to GA's coast, so I'm excited.

In other news, people who ignore the world annoy me. There is one girl here, who is very friendly and out going, but whom I could never really be friends with. For someone who should know the value of hard work (she is second generation American), she just doesn't seem to value what she has. I don't understand this. I also don't understand how people cannot put 2 & 2 together. How do people not equate the lifestyle they lead with the impact on US foreign policy. I love isolationist americans, and often concur with their sentiments. But then reality breaks in, and I know that to live the life I lead, we must import foreign oil. Which in turn means that we have a stake in the mess that is the middle east. Sigh.

previous - next