Entered on 2001-08-31 at 7:47 a.m..

Ready to be Done

Yep it�s that time of year again, when all good college students are ready to be done with summer semester. But wait, I�m not in college anymore. I don�t think my body really cares, it�s done. I have spent my 3 months out in the �real� world, and I�m ready to retreat to the safety of academia. Strange isn�t it?

Needless to say, I�ve been rather hard-pressed to psych myself up for work everyday. I�m becoming more and more excited about starting school in a month, which always brings up interesting questions from people. For instance, over the past few weeks I have been on a mini quest for the definition of the British term crockery. As some of you might recall, my new abode will come with �crockery, cutlery, and cooking utensils.� It has been quite an interesting journey. American dictionaries tend to describe it as earthenware, but in reality it is pretty much an overarching term for dishes, pots and pans.

During this mini quest, other interesting questions have popped up. For instance what are standard kitchen appliances in England? Last night Brian asked if I was going to buy a microwave. I replied, I don�t know if microwaves are even well used in the UK. I have no trouble believing that microwaves are a strange device, which only Americans have truly embraced. Perhaps some of my better traveled peers, such as Jen or Becca could shed some light on this issue. What exactly characterizes a typical British kitchen? Or in Jen�s case Irish kitchen. In the US it would be a big refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, and dishwasher, with the added accessories of a toaster and can opener.

Well I�ll leave it at that, and look forward to answering the above question in early October.

previous - next