Entered on 2002-02-12 at 12:21 p.m..

Biscuit Update 3 & New Phone Number

Good news, we received information this morning that the administration will be taking steps to insure that our biscuit and chocolate sales are not eliminated. They will be working out procedures and guidelines for the proper handling of money. And in the mean time a new order of biscuits and chocolates has been placed. There have been smiles all around. Now the only challenge is to try to sell all of our stock, before we are "forced" to eat it.

Of course, to all up sides there is a down side. The phone company that has a monopoly on the residential side of campus is changing all of the phone numbers on us. The upside is that the reason we are getting new numbers is because the company can now lease lines directly and not have to rent them from BT so our calling prices will go down. The down side is that our new numbers are national numbers so anyone in britian trying to call me will have to pay national rates. I've checked out AT&T's web site and I don't think that anyone one from outside of the UK will see an increase in the cost of calls. They haven't told us what our new numbers will be yet or when they will be turning over, so I'll just keep everyone posted.

In work news, I'm still reading. Getting closer though to having gone through all of the papers I've collected so far. Then I'll be about half way done reading. Off to get more papers and to finish the other half of the reading. Then the typing begins, and won't end for several years...

Today is Shrove Tuesday / Pancake Day here so tonight I'm having lots of people over from my office and making pancakes. This should be an interesting cultural event. I hope everything turns out ok. Bisquick is not my favorite mix, but I take what I can get. The maple syrup I bought came in a can similar to a small paint can.

previous - next