Entered on 2002-03-29 at 9:27 p.m..

Mud

I went cycling today, and if you are curious to know how it went, take a look below at the review I just posted on Amazon. Needless to say it didn't go as well as I had hoped, but it was such nice weather that it didn't matter. I'm really sore now, but thank God I was wearing my new waterproof hiking boots. I found that if there was standing water, it was best to cycle through it because the bottom of the puddle/rut was usually solid and easier than the inches thick mud around it. I have also found a new use for the power carwash up on the corner.

Along my way I came upon a model airplane club out flying their planes around in good weather. Some of the planes were truely beautiful, and I took some pictures.

On a more serious note, for the first time that I can remember I have Good Friday off, yet this week I have explained the Easter 'story' and rituals associated/not associated with it more than at any time in my life. I guess I've just never met so many ignorant agnostics/atheists. What I mean is that most of the non-religous people I have known in my life were raised at least somewhat religous and have since decided that they don't believe in it. It is quite a shock to meet so many people who don't know anything about religion (not just Christianity). Just seems like they've been cheated some how.

Ok, here is that Amazon review:

I quite excitedly purchased this book hoping to see more of the countryside. So far I have tried to follow two of the rides listed in the book and have had moderate problems following the directions. Either not enough information was given, or my impression of the situation was not consistent with the description provided in the book. For instance the book talks at one point about a "the track takes a sharp left hand turn to drop to the concrete road along side." I rode right by the extremely sharp drop (15ft drop in the span of 8 ft) the track was so narrow and steep that I would never have thought of it as a cyclable path.

The description of terrain isn't the only thing I don't see eye to eye with the author on. Today I went on a ride marked ** for winter, indicating "probably normal, some mud, but generally ridable in almost any conditions." Now today is the 5th day of no rain (quite a feat in this part of the world) and every time I left pavement I had to push, shove, haul, and otherwise drag my bicycle over the earth. Near the end I noticed that it was so bad, I was having to pedal to keep going forward even though I was heading down a hill with at least a 20 degree slope. There were also moderately classed hills which I found so steep/bumpy that I walked my bicycle (down and up). Now I am not an accomplished off road bicyclist, but just behind me was a couple also walking/dragging their bicycles down the steep incline, so I wasn't the only one having problems. We later passed each other as we drug our bicycles through the mud.

I do not reccomend spending your money on this book because if you are an accomplished enough cyclist to be able to enjoy these rides, than you probably can make up more interesting rides for yourself.

previous - next