Entered on 03 March 2003 at 8:43 a.m..

Achoo!!

Spring is here and I cannot stop sneezing! It all started on Friday, when I thought I was coming down with a cold, but then I noticed the trees blooming. So I've been constantly sneezing since Friday, which I must admit has proven to be a wonderful ab workout.

Friday after a horrendous bus ride which extended from 1.5-2.5 hours I arrived at Cambridge in time for dinner. These things are really nice. You start off with sherry/other drinks before dinner. Go down to dinner where you are then given a bottle of some (rather cheap) wine to split among about 4 people. Dinner is served and consists of 3 courses and a roll. Everyone is dressed in either cocktail dress or robes. They have this gong that they use to get everyone's attention for wise words from the dean before they dig in. During dinner I was introduced to a drinking game which involves saving the queen from drowning. If anyone wants to know more they can call. After dessert everyone retires for either port, Bailey's or coffee. All in all it was a lot of fun.

Saturday was gray and rainy, so I took the bus home and tried not to sneeze on too many people while I did some errands.

Sunday was more of the same, although I did manage to get some more writing done.

And now I'm here. The highlight of my day so far has been the collared doves nesting outside my window. Very cute.

previous - next